Registration 14.07.2011 : 9.00 – 10.30 am

Inaugural Session

14.07.2011 : 10.30 am


Welcome : Shri K.P. Sadasivan, President, KLA

Presidential Address : Shri K.M. Chandrasekhar, IAS, Vice Chairman, State Planning Board, Govt. of Kerala (Formerly: Cabinet Secretary, Govt. of India)

Inauguration : Dr. Shashi Tharoor, Member of Parliament, Thiruvananthapuram (Former Under-Secretary-General, United Nations)

Release of Souvenir : Advocate K. Chandrika, Worshipful Mayor , Thiruvananthapuram Corporation

Speeches :

1. Shri M. Nandakumar , IAS, Director, Information & Public Relations Department, Govt. of Kerala

2. Shri P. Jayarajan, Member, Raja Rammohun Roy Library Foundation Kolkata (Former Country Head, British Libraries in India)

Vote of Thanks : Dr. P.K. Sureshkumar, General Secretary, KLA

 12.00 Noon – 1.00 pm

Keynote Address : Dr. M.P. Tapaswi, Head, Knowledge Resource Centre, National Institute of Oceanography, Goa

Title : Be on the top of the tide :Content management for effective Information dissemination

1.00 -2.00 pm : Lunch Break

Session I :Content Management & ICT : The Technology Interface

2.00 – 4.00 pm

Chair : Shri Satish Babu, President-Elect, Computer Society of India & Director, IC-FOSS (Govt. of Kerala)

Lead Paper : Shri Anvar Sadath, Executive Director, IT@School Project, Kerala

Contributed Papers

Corporate Presentation : LIBSOFT Library Package

4.00 – 4.15 pm Tea

4.15 – 5.00 pm : Exhibition Rounds


Session II :e-Resources Management – I

9.30 – 11.15 am

Chair : Dr. T.A. Abdul Azeez, Deputy Librarian-in-Charge, CHMK Library, University of Calicut

Lead Paper : Mrs. P. Nishy, Scientist & Head, National Knowledge Resource Consortium, NISCAIR, New Delhi

Contributed Papers

Tea Break : 11.15 – 11.30am

Session III :e-Resources Management –II

11.30 am – 1.15 pm

Chair : Dr. V. Gopakumar, Librarian, Goa University

Lead Paper : Ms Padmaja Muralidhar, Senior Librarian, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Contributed Papers

Corporate Presentation : Shri Manik Sethi , Elsevier Publishers, New Delhi

Lunch Break : 1.15– 2.00 pm

Session IV :Content Management & Public Libraries

2.00 – 3.30.00 pm

Chair : Dr. R. Ramasamy, Regional Head, Raja Rammmohun Roy Library Foundation Southern Zonal Office, Chennai

Lead Paper : Dr. G. Arivoli, Director of Public Libraries, Tamil Nadu

Contributed Papers

Tea Break : 3.30 – 3.45 pm

    Session V : Capacity Building for Excellence

3.45 – 5.15 pm

Chair : Dr. G. Devarajan, Former Head, DLIS & Dean of Faculty of Social Sciences, University of Kerala

Lead Paper : Dr. Anandakuttan B. Unnithan, Professor & Head, Post Graduate Programme, IIM Kozhikode

Contributed Papers

Corporate Presentation : Shri Sanjay Grover, Informatics (India), Bangalore

6.00 – 8.30 pm : Cultural Programme followed by Dinner


Sessions VI :Content Management and Web Technology

9.30 am – 11.30 am

Chair : Shri K. Ravindran Asari, Former University Librarian, MG University, Kottayam

Lead Paper : Dr. M.G. Sreekumar, Head, Library & Information Centre, IIM, Kozhikode

11.30-11.45 am : Tea Break

Panel Discussion 11.45 am – 1.15 pm 

Moderator : Dr. Achuthsankar S. Nair, Director, State Inter-University Centre of Excellence in Bioinformatics University of Kerala


  1. Prof. C.A. Augustine Director, YMCA e- Resource Centre & Library, Trivandrum
  2. Dr. A. Ajayaghosh Director Grade Scientist & Bhatnagar Prize Winner, NIIST(CSIR),Trivandrum
  3. Dr. Ajit Prabhu Joint Director, KSCSTE, Govt. of Kerala
  4. Dr. M.P. Tapaswi Head, Knowledge Resource Centre, NIO Goa
  5. Shri K.P. Sadasivan Former Head, Knowledge Resource Centre, NIIST(CSIR),Trivandrum & President, KLA

%d bloggers like this: